Home > FSB Radio > FSB096: Gabrielle Geiselman

FSB096: Gabrielle Geiselman

November 26, 2009

A few months ago I get this email from a photographer saying how much she loves the show and that she thinks she’d have a lot of cool things to contribute. I frequently get guest suggestions, but honestly, I don’t tend to give that much weight to people who suggest themselves. But, I took a look at her website and saw her clientele. Rob Zombie. Marilyn Manson. Alice Cooper. Marshall Amplifiers. And other major rock bands. My first thought was “Wow, I’m honored someone who’s been involved with such major bands is that interested in my little show.” But, to be honest, my NEXT thought was, “Do I really want the photographer for Marilyn Manson on my show?” Anyone who knows me well knows I’m more of a David Crowder, Mercy Me, and Fee Band kind of guy. 🙂 But then I had a third thought, “F-Stop Beyond is about interviewing ALL kinds of photographers, from all walks of life. Let’s do it.” So I wrote her back, invited her to be on the show, and she gladly accepted. I’m so glad I did.

Today’s guest is a real “rock star” photographer. Not only because of her clientele, but because her work does indeed “rock”. Gabrielle Geiselman started her career at the tender age of 12 when she would sneak into L.A. rock clubs and take photos of bands during the early 80s. Yes, I said age 12 (as she puts it, she didn’t, ahem, look 12). Music has always been an important part of her life, so it’s only natural she’d gravitate to taking photos of rock bands. Gabrielle shares all kinds of terrific insights like: how to get good exposures in a dark rock club (answer: become good friends with the lighting designer); why you should shoot with a 50mm 1.4 for a year; what it’s like traveling on the road on a bus with a band when you’re the only girl; surviving and thriving in two male-dominated industries (photography and music) withOUT sleeping to the top; whether or not the personas portrayed by her clients are just for show, or if they are like that in real life; and so much more.

This is another one of those great conversations that I didn’t want to end. I have to admit that I had judged what I thought Gabrielle would be like based on her clientele. Thank you Gabrielle for reminding me that you never know what you’ll find inside an individual until you have the courage to look inside. That’s what this show is all about. It was such a pleasure having you on.

Get code to embed in your blog. Subscribe to this show in iTunes.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Tune in next week for another brand new episode.

Categories: FSB Radio Tags: , ,
  1. December 11, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Yah Gab!!!

  2. Jamie C.
    December 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    i lover her work wanting to be a rock/concert photograpgher shes my icon

  3. jennifer craft
    December 22, 2009 at 1:31 am

    i am in awe of u! we used to compete for rudy B's attention back in the day. u were Stevie Nicks and i thought i was Nancy. remember how we wrote pulp fiction about crazylove? Remember Crash? I wish I had'nt been such a bitch. I was jealous…remember me, Jennifer Craft?

  1. December 6, 2009 at 9:44 pm
  2. December 12, 2009 at 4:07 pm
Comments are closed.
