Home > FSB Radio > FSB085: Ira Lippke

FSB085: Ira Lippke

June 26, 2009

Ira Lippke is a documentary photographer with a passion for capturing truth and reality. He has undergone one of the most unique documentary projects I’ve seen. He’s re-created his childhood in a “documentary” series of photos called “Lore”–a collection of photographs depicting what it was like for him and his brother living in the woods with this “hippie” parents (at one point they did upgrade to a school bus.)  As Ira puts it, he wants this series to be “true” rather than exact.  He’s hired actors to star as his mother, himself as a kid, and his brother as a kid, and his real brother stars as their dad. This idea of uncovering these memories and revealing what is true is part of what we’ll discuss in today’s insightful interview.

Ira’s a man whose work takes him to vastly divergent parts of the world. Ira also comments on what it’s like to be documenting poverty and despair in 3rd world country one day, then literally shooting a swank Beverly Hills wedding the next.He also straddles two coasts with a studio in Manhatten and in southern California. This is an interview that I think will open your eyes to the possibilities of stretching your eyes and your heart with respect to your art.

Get code to embed in your blog. Subscribe to this show in iTunes.

Next week we chat with the husband and wife photo and cinema team Patrick and Amina Moreau of StillMotion in Toronto, Canada.

  1. June 30, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I can’t believe no one commented here. Ira’s work/vision/life philosophy are all incredible, as reflected in his work.

  2. R.S. Covolo
    July 2, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Ira is one of the few individuals who’s art flows out of a beautiful life and philosophy. His own artistic fervor documenting images reflects an integrated, passionate and sincere personal life. This interview gives listeners a taste for Ira’s own belief in ‘critical realism’ as the epistemic basis for photojournalistic work. After watching a heavily dramatic film Ira’s comment to me was, “I couldn’t get beyond how much ‘green’ the film explored.” Ira truly lives life as first and foremost an artist seeing through the lense of color, shape and form.

  3. August 11, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I just found this site. I listened to both the interview with Jim Kennedy and Ira Lippke and I have to say I’m stoked. I’ve been in the profession of wedding photography for 30 years. I’m 58 so I obviously have been around for a while. Four years ago I had to reinvent myself and my business. All the new technology has been a major undertaking for me. I grew up in the analog age so learning and adapting the new stuff has been challenging. This pod cast has really inspired me and even though I’m an old guy I feel as though I’m 20 years old and ready to take my business to a whole new level. Thanks for the great interviews and inspiring people. I live and work near Ira and have enjoyed his work for the past couple of years and I feel he is a true master.

  4. August 11, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I just found this site. I listened to both the interview with Jim Kennedy and Ira Lippke and I have to say I’m stoked. I’ve been in the profession of wedding photography for 30 years. I’m 58 so I obviously have been around for a while. Four years ago I had to reinvent myself and my business. All the new technology has been a major undertaking for me. I grew up in the analog age so learning and adapting the new stuff has been challenging. This pod cast has really inspired me and even though I’m an old guy I feel as though I’m 20 years old and ready to take my business to a whole new level. Thanks for the great interviews and inspiring people. I live and work near Ira and have enjoyed his work for the past couple of years and I feel he is a true master.

  5. August 11, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    @allen – thanks for your comment. And congrats on your new direction in life. I’m so pleased you find the podcast inspiring.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
