Home > FSB Radio > FSB081: Gray Scott

FSB081: Gray Scott

May 29, 2009

“At some point you have to ask yourself, ‘why am I doing this?’…If you’re not familiar with your own subconscious, when it does arrive, it will scare the s#*! out of you.” ~ Gray Scott

I first “discovered” Gray Scott at liveBooks Photographers in Focus video series. His work has a brooding, almost eerie sensibility about it. After watching the short video, I knew that he’d be a terrific guest for the show. His sense as an artist, his talent, and his passion for his work are right up our alley. What’s even more amazing is that he’s gained a great deal of success in the commercial and fashion world after only picking up a camera five years ago. His artistic career started with oil painting as a kid. But somewhere down the line he got into make-up of all things. But, whether it was a desire to be the guy “in charge” (as opposed to just the support staff), or his need to “say something” with his work, he dove into professional photography full time (he was shooting his first editorial only after 3 months).  In this very inspiring and vulnerable interview, Gray shares with us about his career growth, his view as an artist, the pain in his past that has such a profound influence on his work, and how his work has evolved over the years. You get a sense that he’s a man on a quest. For those of you who are passionate artists, Gray’s words will be like honey to your ears. This is quintessential F-Stop Beyond. Enjoy.

Get code to embed in your blog. Subscribe to this show in iTunes.

Next week we return to the world of social media with the woman who actually came up with the name “WordPress.” Wedding and boudoir photographer and social media maven Christine “Big Pink Cookie” Tremoulet.

  1. Jess Julian
    May 29, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Just wanted to share what a tremendous inspiration your blog has been to an aspiring photographer like myself. I always leave feeling more encouraged by the interesting interviews you’ve held. Thank you so much.

  2. May 29, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Wow, funny story. I work in Accounting (the most boring thing in the world) and I saw the [b] school blog last year and I haven’t seen it in a while, so I decided to take a gander at it today. I saw the “Living Color” video interview you did with Becker and I decided to look at this website. I have listened to your phone interview with the Boutwells a while back from one of Chenin’s tweets and I really liked it. They are very inspiring.
    I actually recently have been very obsessed with liveBooks. I think I visit the site Monday – Friday, just to look when I’m bored at work. I really want them to do my website in the future and I love them! I saw a few websites from there, but Gray Scott was the photographer that really caught my eye. I am in love with Gray Scott’s work. I love, love, love his style.
    I just wanted to say thank you for making my day and having him on! He is very inspiring to me!!
    I’m only 21 years old and I really wish I could afford a professional camera, it’s killing me inside!! haha…
    Again, thanks!

  3. June 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

    A truly awesome podcast Ron! I loved that Scott was so open and honest with his feelings.

    One of my favourite parts was when Scott said forget trying to be the next Andy Warhol, there was only one of him and there will never be another.

    This is something I’m always trying to drum into fellow still & motion picture colleagues; it’s nice to occasionally see or critique colleagues work, but if you truly want to separate yourself from the pack you need to look beyond wedding photos & video, otherwise your work will ultimately end up being a second class imitation.

    Thanks!
    Evro

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
