Home > FSB Radio > FSB078: Scott and Adina Hayne

FSB078: Scott and Adina Hayne

May 4, 2009

A little over two years ago, Scott Hayne was running a small courier business that lost a major contract forcing  him into “unemployment.” His wife Adina lost her job as well.  Yet, Scott had a gift for photography, and in the midst of those job losses, they took a leap of faith and invested $10,000 in camera gear and other equipment to start their photography business. Well, their investment paid off. This year at the Annual Senior Portrait Artist event, he was named both Senior Portrait Artist of the Year and Top New Artist of the Year. Scott and Adina seem to be doing everything right. They’ve gathered over 2,500 Facebook friends (half of which are clients or potential clients), have a decent Twitter following, and his meteoric rise to success has prompted other photographers to ask, “How’d you do it?” So, they started their “No Rules “Workshop” to share the what worked and didn’t work for them.

In this interview, Scott and Adina tell us how it all began, the scary start of borrowing the money to start the business, how Facebook has benefited their business, how they went from 4 weddings to 37 in one year, finding one’s “style,” and what it’s like working together as a husband and wife team. In today’s trying economic times, it’s encouraging stories like this that remind you anything is possible!

Get code to embed in your blog. Subscribe to this show in iTunes.

Next week we have a very special treat. Uber-successful commercial photog and industry thought-leader Doub Menuez graces the FSB airwaves. You absolutely WON’T want to miss it!

Contest Winners

We also announce the winners of the “Find our ad in RangeFinder Magazine” contest. Congrats to Lydia Takeoka, Rich Mattingly, Patrick Farrington, and George Williams. If you want to bypass the contest winner announcement, the interview starts at 5:36.

  1. May 5, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Great interview Ron. I just turned 40 this year and this was very encouraging and really made me feel like I have a chance and making my business work. Like Scott and Adina I am a few years past the demographic I am marketing to and that is always a challenge but Scott and Adina really made me re-think the way I am doing things and gave me some great ideas to go forward with. Thanks for all you give back.

    Allen Hyslip

  2. May 7, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Allen! You can make it work for sure you youngin’. I really believe that it is an asset being the ages we are as long as you can remain in touch with the X&Y generations. Your age can give you some credibility in a market full of beginner photogs with the “looks” but not the images to match. Leverage your experience and age along with images that match what that generation wants and you’ll make a difference!

    Scott

  3. May 17, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Hi All

    Great interview. Scott and Adina, you are so inspiring to me and my wife. We have and currently going through the same experience as you had described in the interview. Even down to the different business role members that betwwen my wife and self in our photography business. With exception, to the “gift of gab” (e.g., facebook, twitter etc.) which resides in my area of expertise. Ron, another great interview please keep on inspiring us photographers.

    Regards,
    Carl Reid

  4. May 17, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Hi All

    Great interview. Scott and Adina, you are so inspiring to me and my wife. We have and are currently going through the same experience as you had described in the interview. Even down to the different business role members tbetwwen my wife and self in our photography business. With exception, to the “gift of gab” (e.g., facebook, twitter etc.) which resides in my area of expertise. Ron, another great interview please keep on inspiring us photographers.

    I should also mention while I may have the gift of gab my wife is definitely my editor. Sorry for the previous comment’s poor grammar (joke)!

    Regards,
    Carl Reid

  1. May 4, 2009 at 3:41 pm
Comments are closed.
