Home > The Longest Day > TLD01: The Longest Day – Ep. 01

TLD01: The Longest Day – Ep. 01

December 30, 2008

It’s been a long time in the making, but it’s  finally here. The premiere episode of the first online reality TV show for and about professional photographers, “The Longest Day,” this year’s buzz-building videos series for WPPI 2009.

The premise is simple: get 24 of the hottest professional photographers in the country (and Canada), bring them all to southern California armed only with the knowledge that they would be split into two teams and given an assignment to complete in just 24 hours. Once they arrive, they find out their assignment is to write, shoot, and edit an original short film about photography, AND an original PSA about the respective charity for which they are playing: ThirstRelief and Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep.

Over a series of ten episodes, you’ll see the drama; the comedy; and the battle for the best video and PSA as voted on by YOU. That’s right, as we lead up to WPPI (February 14-19) we’ll air the episodes. Then, about a week before, we’ll show the final short films and PSAs by both teams. You will then have an opportunity to vote for the videos you like the best. Thanks to our sponsors, the winning team will win $3,000 for their charity. The other charity will earn $2,000. (In this episode you’ll hear me mention $1,000 and $500 as the respective prizes. The ante got upped since the taping of this show).

EARN VALUABLE PRIZES
As we did last year, we’re offering some valuable prizes for those of you who participate in the viewing and sharing of the video series. First, anyone who adds any TLD video to their website or blog will get free admission to WPPI 2010 (note: that’s NEXT YEAR’S WPPI, not the upcoming one in 2009). Just get the embed code from the show player, then add to your blog/website. Once added, copy the URL for the specific post, then go to the “WPPI 2010 Freebie Form” at the top of this blog and fill it out. It’s that simple.

Also, for each episode we’ll have a drawing for a free song download from show sponsor Triple Scoop Music (A $60 value). You must leave a comment for that episode to be entered into the drawing. The deadline for each episode’s drawing is the post for the next episode (which will vary from 3-7 days).

OUR SPONSORS

Please take some time to visit the sites of our sponsors:

Microsoft Expression Media 2WPPIAsuka Book Kubota Image ToolsTriple Scoop Music
Photographer’s EditLoktahMike Colón Photographers

NOW ON WITH THE SHOW

Okay, now that all the business is taken care of, watch and enjoy episode 1. The teams are picked. The battle lines are drawn. Let the games begin! (Remember, leave a comment and be entered into the drawing. Add this episode to your blog for free admission to next year’s WPPI).

http://blip.tv/play/gqpr48kGAA%2Em4v

CREDIT CORRECTION

In the music credits, the credit for “A Girl Named Jaen” were incorrectly listed as “jean.” My apologies to the artist.

  1. December 30, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    I really wanted to go to WPPI in 2009, but now it looks like a for sure for 2010! Thanks guys! Can’t wait to watch the first episode!

  2. December 30, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    You rocked it Ron, love the intro. Looking forward to the next episodes and the winner come awards night at WPPI.

  3. December 30, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Great Job, I have been waiting for this since Jasmine Star mentioned it on her blog.

    This looks like it was a blast.

    Looking forward to more.

  4. December 30, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I just linked episode 1 to my twitter here @debperry, will blog about it later once I finish the episode. Great Job Ron! 😉

  5. December 30, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I would love to add this to my blog, but ever since I switched to a wordpress blog, I cannot figure out how to post video. And my blog is not on my server and my web designer won’t return my emails…any advice?

  6. December 30, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Never mind…I figured it out…I’m smart 🙂

  7. December 30, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Great job Ron and team! Can’t wait for the series to play out. TEAM A RULES! What night is the awards ceremony at WPPI?

  8. December 31, 2008 at 1:04 am

    nice. can’t wait to see how it all unfolds…

  9. December 31, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Awesome work! Can’t wait to watch the other episodes… would love to be at WPPI – but its just not in the budget this year 😦
    Keep up the amazing work and I can’t wait to see what all of these rock star photographers come up with.

  10. December 31, 2008 at 10:07 am

    This Rocks. What a great idea. I can’t wait to see the remaining episodes.

    Thanx!

  11. December 31, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Hey Ron,
    Love the new project and I really enjoy the raw nature of your podcast interviews. You get to see a side of these photographers you would never get to see.

    Thanks!

    Ariston Collander
    Ariston Collander Photography

  12. December 31, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Hi Ron! I am so glad the episodes are finally airing. Can’t wait to see what these fabulous photographers cook up 🙂 I blogged about it here http://photokisses.com/blog/posts/149 now going to fill out the freebie form. See you in 2010! 🙂

    Kristina
    http://www.photokisses.com

  13. December 31, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    hey ron,

    great first episode…curious how it unfolds! (posted on my blog too)

    looking forward to more videos, too, from your interviews!

    g.

  14. December 31, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    This was great! I cant wait to see each episode!
    I admire and respect all the photogs who particpated.

    Happy New Year!
    Emma

  15. December 31, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Looks great! I’ve been waiting to see this.
    Another blog share here http://around395.blogspot.com/2008/12/longest-day.html

  16. January 1, 2009 at 12:18 am

    How much fun! I can’t wait to see more and Episode 1 is already on my blog and my Facebook. My only complaint is not East Coasters! I know several people (myself included) that would be game next year if you would like to mix it up a bit!

  17. January 1, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Looks super awesome! I can’t wait for the next episode! I have shared it on my Facebook. Great job everyone!

  18. January 1, 2009 at 10:28 am

    This is awesome! I thought the whole opening sequence was very well done. Looks like so much fun, can’t wait to see what happens next!
    Cheers, and happy new year!
    ~Zekeshem

  19. January 1, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Oh my goodness… I am so super excited to see the rest! What an awesome and amazing idea!

  20. January 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Awesome job Ron. Brings back great memories!!! Your intro is off the hook. GO TEAM B——-More fun and better lookin’!!!

    I blogged it at http://blog.davidrobinfilms.com/

  21. January 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Ron, what a great idea! Can’t wait to see how some of the industry’s best interact with each other.

  22. January 1, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    i’ve been ranting to my wife every time we watch her reality tv shows that there oughta be a reality show on photographers. i’m hooked already. great job. great concept. can’t wait for more.

  23. January 1, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Ron, this was easily one of the coolest intros to any reality show (or any show!) I’ve seen! This thing belongs on TV!!!

    Absolutely awesome vid. Looking forward to the rest. 🙂

  24. January 1, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Fun, fun, fun!

  25. January 2, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Excellent, can’t wait for the other episodes!

  26. January 2, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Fun stuff! We enjoyed watching it. 🙂

  27. January 4, 2009 at 8:15 am

    This looks great guys! I can’t wait to see the next episode!

  28. January 4, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Great stuff, can’t wait for more! 🙂

  29. January 5, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Ron, this totally rocked the AWESOME! So looking forward to more! 🙂

  30. January 5, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I can’t wait to see more!

  31. January 5, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    saaa-weet! what a cool alternative to the real TV!

  32. January 5, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    This is going to be so funny. I can’t to see them all. Ron Dawson is a genius. And he just moved to Atlanta which is closer to me in Augusta.

  33. January 6, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Awesome 1st episode…and since I just found this (late)..I can now go watch the second one..(i think)

    Cant wait to see more…It’s nice to put faces to names !!

    CW

  34. January 11, 2009 at 1:23 am

    This concept it just amazing! I’m loving it totally!!! It’s great to see all the photographers come together!!!

    Will be posting it to my blog

    http://www.amnahakim.com

    Amna Hakim
    Amna Hakim|Photography
    http://www.amnahakim.com

  35. January 12, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Hi Ron,

    I posted your link on my blog, and now I can’t wait for more episodes! It looks like you guys are having a blast! That’s awesome! It’s such an inspiration to see such amazing photographers get together! Thank you so much for posting this!

    Svetlana Yanova
    http://svetlanayanovaphotos.blogspot.com/

  36. January 13, 2009 at 10:04 am

    how do I get the embedded code from the show player?
    btw..this is so much fun to see talented photographers having fun! It’s also a relief to find resources I need.

  37. January 15, 2009 at 2:12 am

    Hey Ron,

    I wanted to say that this is such an awesome idea & I’m really stoked that you put this together the way you did! Brilliant!

    Also, I put Episode 1 on our site & just filled in the form. Once I get my admin to 2010 WPPI, I’ll have more $ to spend on a nicer room than this year’s. Yeah!

    Thanks for doing this & I’ll see you soon – cheers!

    David

  38. January 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I love it! And have embedded it into my blog to share with everyone! I can’t wait to see the rest.
    Jeannie

  39. December 12, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Your photos and blog are just beautiful. As a wedding and portrait photographer in San Jose, I know that it’s challenging photographing outstanding pictures. I’ll definitely comeback to keep checking your site.

  40. February 13, 2011 at 8:32 am

    I simply added your web page to my favorites. I like reading you. Is it okay to publish part of this on my website basically post a link back to this webpage?

  1. January 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm
  2. January 5, 2009 at 1:02 pm
  3. January 5, 2009 at 11:22 pm
  4. January 19, 2009 at 9:56 pm
  5. January 30, 2009 at 1:32 am
Comments are closed.
