Home > Uncategorized > Episode 38: Vincent LaForet

Episode 38: Vincent LaForet

May 29, 2008

laforet.jpgOne day my inquisitive 13-year-old daughter saw a photo on the cover of a local paper that showed a dead person in the road. It was a recent victim of the strife over in the Gaza Strip. My daughter asked me, “Daddy, why did that photographer take that picture instead of running over to help that man?” (Ah, from the mouth of babes.) I really didn’t have a great answer for her insightful question. So, I posed the question to this week’s guest, Vincent LaForet. He’s a New York editorial and commercial photographer, Pulitzer Prize winner, Canon Explorer of Light, photographer of the year New York Press Photographer’s Association, and in 2002 PDN named him one of the top 30 photographers to watch under the age of 30. Vincent has done some amazing work in Katrina and over in Afghanistan. Vincent shares with us how he was profoundly impacted by the 10 days he spent in New Orleans photographing the Katrina disaster. Vincent’s answer to my daughter’s question was very fulfilling and gives insight into the power of photography to aid a cause in its own special way. This is the first of a series of interviews with photographers who’ve gone above and beyond in contributing back to their community or society in general. Join me in this inspiring interview with an amazing artist.

katrina_laforet.jpg

Next week, be sure to have a box of tissue by your side as portrait photographer Sandy Puc’ tells us about her work with Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep.

  1. May 31, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    This is one of my favorites, Vincent’s work is incredible. Thanks for these interviews, I love hearing other photog’s perspectives and being exposed to work that is really inspirational like Vincent LaForet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
