Home > Uncategorized > Episode 31: Carlos Baez

Episode 31: Carlos Baez

April 10, 2008

carlosbaez.jpgCarlos Baez is a 23-year veteran in the industry who built his career doing fashion and fine art photography. He’s recently added high end wedding photography to his repertoire, routinely earning $15-$25K for his wedding work. He now speaks nationally and is one of the “professors” at PhotographyMentor.com. He’s had the opportunity to learn from some photography greats, including acclaimed fine art photographer Helmut Newton. In fact, get Carlos talking about the greats in the industry, and you’ll quickly get a taste of that passion in his Latin blood. Carlos is very passionate about photographers getting back to their roots and learning about the forefathers of the industry, as wells as knowing and understanding the basic concepts of the craft (things like zone systems, 120 backs, light meters, and f-stops). In this episode, we learn some photography history, about Carlos’ “mission” to empower women, and his passion about family. After this episode, you won’t look at photography the same.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Robert
    April 14, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I usually enjoy your pod-casts but I have to say this one wasn’t a favorite considering Mr. Baez’s level of contempt towards photographers that aren’t of his pedigree or training — yet it appears he doesn’t mind taking their money.

  2. April 14, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Hi Robert,

    First, thanks so much for being a fan of the show. I’m sorry that Carlos’ interview rubbed you the wrong way. But, the show wouldn’t be that interesting if there weren’t at least a few episodes that rubbed people the wrong way.

    FWIW, I personally didn’t get the impression that Carlos has any contempt towards photographers. Having been in the industry as long as he, and having been schooled in age old techniques, he (like many other photography purists I’ve met) is very passionate about his art. It’s apparent this topic is very close to him. It’s much like in the filmmaking business when seasoned veteran directors get frustrated at the young hot shots coming out who do amazing work, but don’t know the greats like Kurosawa, Capra, Fellini, Kubrick, etc.

    I don’t think he was being condescending to people who don’t have his training. I think that’s what he wants, for photographers to know that level of training. Part of his frustration was meeting “professional” photographers who didn’t know what a light meter was, or an F-stop, or Photoshop for that matter. I could understand that making a pro frustrated. But, I can see how his level of passion, combined with that frustration, could come across the way it did to you.

    Thanks again for listening and being open enough to share your thoughts.

  3. Lisa
    April 15, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I really enjoyed this interview. I had heard of Carlos Baez but didn’t realize until now that he did weddings. I found it refreshing to hear from a photographer whose background is grounded in traditional photography practices yet he is doing modern work (modern without relying heavily on photoshop affects).

  4. April 15, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Along with Lisa, I too enjoyed this podcast. Though it may come off differently to different people, what Carlos talks about makes total sense. It’s not that it’s wrong to pick up a camera and take a great photo, I’m sure we ALL did that at one point or another. I believe that what he says about knowing the greats and knowing your history is nothing but healthy and can only make you a better photographer. That’s one of the ways to go to the next level.

    I think Robert misunderstood the point that Carlos was trying to make. I think perhaps he should go back and listen to the podcast once more. Regardless, we are all entitled to our own opinions. As for mine, Carlos has shed some light in areas that I know I can and should improve. Thanks Carlos. And thanks Ron for these awesome interviews.

  5. Lara Parent
    May 22, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Ron,

    This has to be my favorite of all of your engaging podcasts to date.

    Thanks, Ron for these great interviews: the layers of your questions and the depth of responses you get are wonderful.

    Carlos’s words and images are incredibly inspirational. I loved the balance that he spoke about in his life. Finding your vision and knowing our history hit home for me.

    As a child I was always looking: late for school because of some cloud formation or the way the light was on the red jacket of a woman walking through a crosswalk. I’ve always had that love for looking.

    In high school and college, photographers like W. Eugene Smith, Cindy Sherman, Ruth Bernhard, and Irving Penn really stirred my soul (as did Scorsese, Hitchcock and Fellini) and had me staying into the darkroom into the wee hours of the morning. I still miss the magic in a darkroom of a print emerging amongst the smell of the chemicals and the heat of the room. Carlos brought me back to exposing for shadows, sheet film and dye transfer while also reminding me to use what I know as I apply to digital as I continue to learn and grow. (With any new medium, it is easy to forget the stuff you know and learned. Maybe it is just a personal challenge for me though!)

    I too, do not believe he was condescending. He was simply trying to get photographers to think and to consider the evolution of photography and how so many incredible photographers have shaped it–and continue to do so.

    Whenever I look at Penn’s portraits of indigenous and well-known people, his fashion work, and all of his amazing still life photographs (the found objects!!), I am still inspired and blown away at his vision and how fresh they look some 40 years later.

    Muchissimas gracias, Carlos y Ron!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
