Home > Uncategorized > Episode 25: Frederick Johnson

Episode 25: Frederick Johnson

February 28, 2008

frederickvan.jpgAs we come to the end of hour “Black History Month” tribute (no, that doesn’t mean we won’t have other African American photographers on the show) we have the pleasure to speak with a guy who most likely has a lot of influence on your role as a pro photographer. I’m speaking of none other than Senior Marketing Manager, Professional Photography, Frederick Johnson. Long before he started peddling photo manipulation software, Frederick was in the photography trenches—figuratively AND literally. He got his start in the photography business shooting during his eight-year tour of duty in the Air Force. Frederick shares with us about life in the military, what it’s like to so often be the “only one” in your work or circle of friends, the inanity of comments like “You speak white,” and politics. I joke that this episode of the show should be called “Hard Ball with Ron Dawson.” Enjoy.

Next week, we speak with WPPI “Young Gun” Gene Higa.
digg:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson newsvine:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson del.icio.us:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson Y!:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson reddit:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson furl:Episode 25: Frederick Johnson

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. March 1, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Your podcasts are great! How can I get episodes 1-5?

  2. March 3, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Hi Lindsay,

    Thanks for your comment. You can get all the episode in iTunes:
    itpc://cinematicstudios.podbean.com/feed

  3. PETEY
    March 5, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Ron, I really appreciated the series that you did for Black History Month. Each interview was excellent and well worth the listen. You have a great show!!! I have one request: when you interview Gene Higa- leave no stone unturned. He is one of my favorite photographers and has been on the biggest inspirations for me to take my photography to another level! So get the whole scoop on Gene for us out here in listening land. Also, his promo video is the best that I have seen yet. The person who put that promo together is awesome too!

  4. March 5, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Hey Petey,

    I think you’ll really like Gene’s interview. It’s already recorded. I’ll let him know what you said. 🙂 And thanks for the compliment on his video. It was my second favorite video we produced last year.

    More great episodes are on the horizon. Thanks for listening!

  5. April 4, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Ron…You are awesome. I have always followed your work and I did not get a chance to talk to you at WPPI 2008. Never in a million year did I think you wouls lead me back to my long lost friend Freddy. We were in the Air Force in California. Fred was an awesome Air Force Photojournalist who became a broter to me,,I have been searching hin for years!!! It’s funny how our lives crossed. I cant tell you how much I appreciate this. Here I am in D.C. about to shoot an upscale Wedding, my first for 2008 and I find him via you!!!

    Im in tears yes tears and Im cool saying that…I owe you. Thank you. Fred is awesome as i f you didnt know that.

    Andy
    AndyJohnImages.com

  6. April 4, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    ok tons of typos above but thats due to lack of sleep and to much work….LOL

  7. April 5, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Wow. Ron I just got home from my Saturday Wedding and I was excited to listen to this interview..It is like talking to a Long lost Friend which is what Fresd is to me. I have not reached him yet but this interview brought memories that we talked about during our time at Vandenberg ALL of the conversations:) Ask Fred about the time we were in Down Town Santa Barbrea and I walke up to two Japanese Women and began speaking Japanese..LOL Ron, you brought back some very fond memories.

    Andy

  8. Gregory Griffin
    April 8, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Just heard the interview with Fred Van Johnson. It was great. I was not aware of your podcast prior to today. From now on will be a regular. Thanks for a great show.

  9. May 5, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Ron just got your link from the interview with Frederick Johnson via a link from his website. Great interview. Thought you’d be interested in an African American photographer friend of mine here in Duluth, Minnesota by the name of Dudley Edmundson. He recently had a book published called the Black & Brown Faces in America’s Wild Places. His website is http://raptorworks.com.

    Tigg

  1. March 5, 2008 at 2:59 pm
Comments are closed.
