Home > Uncategorized > Episode 24: Robert T. Williams

Episode 24: Robert T. Williams

February 21, 2008

roberttwilliams.jpgMy first introduction to Robert T. Williams, Lifestyle Photojournalist, was via his full page Grace Ormonde ad. Anyone in the business knows that a full page ad in what some consider to be the premiere wedding magazine costs a “gang of money.” We’re talking mucho dinero. When I later discovered that Robert was a black photographer, I was surprised. I had never seen another African American vendor (other than Preston Bailey) of that caliber in the magazine. I then had the pleasure to hear him speak for a little bit while I was filming for Pictage at their Chicago PartnerCon. He was witty, funny, intelligent, and very insightful. In this, our third installment for Black History month, Robert talks about his approach to his branding and succeeding as a high-end wedding photographer, husband, and father.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. March 7, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Hi Ron,
    I just wanted to thank you so so much for the series on African American photographers! I am an African American female photographer based in South Carolina. It was so refreshing to hear what other African American photographers have to say. I was excited to hear the interview with Robert T. Williams. I discovered him through Grace Ormond magazine and was just thrilled when I learned that he was African American. When I was just starting my business almost 4 years ago, I sent him an email to let him know what an inspiration he was. He sent me back the warmest response full of advice that I refer to and use today!

    Thank you again for this series. I tune in frequently and I’m always inspired.

    Stephenie Robinson

  2. March 7, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Thanks so much for your comment Stephanie. The good news is I have more African American photographers in the works. In fact, tune in early April for an interview with Terrell Lloyd, a staff shooter for the SF 49ers.

    Thanks again for being a fan and for you kind words.

  3. March 12, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Ron,

    Robert is one of the most amazing photographers and one of the most giving people in this industry. I had the pleasure of meeting him years ago and he has been a true gift…I think you have the makings of a great series with Robert and Terrell to start with.

    Heather Whiting

  4. April 5, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Ron;

    Robet is so inspiring I had the pleasure of first meeting him at the PICTAGE Partner COn in La, 2006, Seeing as that we are both in the D.C. Market, he truly makes me proud to know him. I had the pleasure of hearing him speak at WPPI, 2008. Unfortumately, I did not have the honor of meeting you but did get to see you work and have heard many great things about you! Hope to meet you soon.

    Andy John

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
